Scamp’s top 30 anime

To try describing my tastes in anime without using examples is a tedious and often misleading task. A far simpler and more efficient way would be to list my favourites, which, rather unsurprisingly, is exactly what this page is for. These are all anime I would recommend without a seconds hesitation. My all-time favourites, the best Japan has to offer.

If you want more, there’s my 31-60 favourite anime too.

30: Porco Rosso

My favourite Ghibli movie, it does many of the same things that made Arrietty work. Porco Rosso is strangely down-to-earth, with very human characters and desires, telling a neatly compacted story that hints at a much more beyond what was told in this snippet. In a way, it’s a lesson in restraint. The lack on fantastical elements means that the one scene where they do embrace the magical, it’s made all the more memorable because of its brevity. That scene with the planes flying out of the clouds, leaving Porco behind. No other scene in any other Ghibli movie made quite the impact that shot did.

29: Samurai Champloo

It’s not often that you can pin down the exact moment you were sold on a particular anime. Often it’s just a gradual feeling as the awesomeness takes over. But when it does come down to a specific scene, it’s usually several episode in. For example, in Bebop, Champloo’s sister series, it took until episode 13 before I was sold. For Samurai Champloo, it was about 4 minutes into the first episode with that timeskip scene. This was a show trying to be the coolest thing ever and succeeding spectacularly.

28: The Big O

There’s a whole load of things Big O does right. It has Dorothy, who is mai waifu do not steal. It’s got this great sense of grandiose battles, which it kicks in at exactly the right time. These grandiose battles also serve as a great contrast to its usual film-Noir demeanour, where a lot of the way the city is portrayed is very abstract. It’s got a fine sense of style and a great, self-aware sense of humour. It doesn’t have the greatest over-arching story, but its episodic storytelling is second to none.

27: Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket

war in the pocket

Not a fan of Gundam? Shut up, it doesn’t matter. Go watch War in the Pocket anyway. It’s a gut-punch about the loss of innocence and the glorifying of war, military and conflict. It’s a message to those kids who collect toy soldiers that war fucking sucks and kills people in a hopelessly needless way that achieves bloody nothing. It’s so perfectly paced, scripted and constructed that its craft almost hurts. The animation hasn’t aged too well, but otherwise it’s near perfect story-telling with a harsh message.

26: Roujin Z

I’m a massive fan of Katsuhiro Otomo. He has this wonderfully cynical, dark sense of humour, bringing out some of the best black comedy in anime (a medium not particularly known for its black comedy). He wrote the script for Roujin Z, a story about how an old man in his containment facility/caretaking machine goes berserk, prompting a massive military operation to try take it down. It brings together some great themes of the dehumanisation of senior citizens and the importance of human interaction, all in this incredibly entertaining piece. It’s an unsung gem that’s much more accessible and fun than my description could possibly give it credit for.

25: Neon Genesis Evangelion

Evangelion is an odd one. It wasn’t until the end that I realised how little I understood about the plot. Yet, as you can see from its inclusion in here, I still loved the show. It had a true sense of epic cinematography with the way it frames the monsters, heightening the awe inspiring fear they gave off. Combine this with that ever-growing sense of fear and mindfuckery endured by the main characters, and you have this brilliantly engaging show that draws you in and scares you away. Which is why that damn ending is such a fucking anti-climactic way to end the series argh!

24: Arakawa Under the Bridge

Arakawa is a comedy anime, but the true genius isn’t in the comedy. Oh sure, it’s funny. Endlessly so. It has Sister; a trigger happy, war veteran dressed as a nun. But what really makes this show is the intelligence behind its construction. The way the story wraps in on itself, collapsing Recruit’s world in on himself, followed by building up an entirely new world founded upon a different form of logic. It destroys his perception of common sense and builds up a world that tells him hey, what’s common sense anyway?

23: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

Production IG, you sure are capable of some amazing work when you put your mind to it, which is unfortunately not nearly as much as your reputation claims you might. What I loved about Ghost in the Shell is how intricate the plotting was. Each plot level was so complex. I’d frequently pause an episode halfway through to wrap my head around the latest developments, grabbing pieces of paper to try scribble down my thoughts. It’s a show that can have entire episodes devoted to people sitting in a chatroom discussing the conspiracy theories and have it be the most fascinating episode of the entire thing.

22: Kaiba

Quite often when it comes to these  artsy anime, I just find myself rolling my eyes at the desperate attempts to prove that they are different from the norm. In fact, I did that in Kaiba sometimes too. But what I was treated to beyond the Dr.Seass style artwork was a masterclass in storytelling and imagination. The way it uses its cartoony art-style to break down ideas of what we consider identity is quite marvellous. Powerful and beautiful, this turned me into an instant Yuasa fan.

21: Millenium Actress

Satoshi Kon is a master at storytelling, and this isn’t the only time you’ll see one of his works in this top 30. Millenium Actress is his best constructed of the lot. Each story fold in on the others, creating this fantastic single story that’s basically the same one told each time around, but also incorporates a linear narrative as well. It’s such a fantastically told story.

20: Cromartie High School

On pure laughs per minute, social satire comedy, Cromartie is the single funniest anime in my humble opinion. When writing about Cromartie High School, even the memory of the show sets me into a fit of giggles. Arguably the single greatest first episode (and final episode, by association) in anime history, I knew I would love this show as soon as that random thug placed that pencil inside his mouth. He….ate….my….pencil….HE ATE MY PENCIL!

19: Tokyo Godfathers

Satoshi Kon again, Tokyo Godfathers is the ultimate feel-good anime. It cracked my usually stone cold heart as I watched stories surrounding these three homeless idiots. It made me tear up like a big baby. Not through the typical exploitative sad methods that the usual tear-jerkers employ that have almost no effect on me, but through making me happy. For that feat alone, it deserves all the praise it can get.

18: Eden of the East

Marginally superior to his efforts on Ghost in the Shell, Kamiyama really knows how to set my mind in motion. No other anime made me concoct such wild theories for possible directions in the plot only to later shove it in my face that I’d picked up a red herring. Shame the movies aren’t as good, by the TV series is still fantastic as a stand-alone piece. Noblesse Oblige. Please get me one of those messiah phones with Juiz’s voice.

17: Aquarion EVOL

This show is sooo dumb, and yet sooo good. Actually sod it, that’s exactly why it’s so great. So much sexual innuendo, fully aware of how ridiculous it is, and yet somehow still earnest and attempting to tell a genuine story. It’s self aware about its earnestness, if that makes sense. And it works, both the ridiculousness and the main story. Its the kind of anime that makes me tear up with laughter and tear up with emotion at the very same scene. It takes a special kind of anime to do that.

16: School Rumble

Considering School Rumble is supposed to be a parody of overly dramatic love triangle soap operas, the fact that it does a better job of making us wish for these character’s successes in their love life is a testament to how good the characterisation is. It makes them both incredibly silly and entertaining, and yet human and identifiable with clear personalities and flaws that makes them sympathetic. Admittedly I’ve seen this series and read the manga so many times that I am now so attached to these people that I can no longer tell if the actual series is any good anymore, so take this recommendation with a pinch of salt.

15: Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann

If there’s a wall in our way, we’ll destroy it! If there’s no road, we’ll pave it with our own hands! Your drill is the drill that will pierce the heavens! Don’t believe in the me who believes in you. Don’t believe in the you who believes in me, believe in yourself! Go beyond the impossible and kick reason to the curb! WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK WE ARE!!!

14: Cowboy Bebop

For what is considered in many quarters to be the greatest anime ever created, it sure does start of very slow. The first episodes, while still good, were nowhere near as good as I anticipated it would be. It started to turn around episode 8, improving significantly when Ed arrived, but it wasn’t until episode 13 when it finally hit me. As the credits rolled down the screen with the song ‘Space Lion’ playing, it finally dawned on me why. This truly is one of the greatest anime of all time.

13: Full Metal Alchemist + Brotherhood

After some deliberation, I’ve decided to lump both the original and Brotherhood together. Brotherhood reminded me, both through its strengths and through its faults, why the original Full Metal Alchemist was such a good story. This is shounen at its finest. Well, it would be if you could combine the pacing of the first series with the sense of epic timing (like comedic timing, except with *phwoar* instead of laughs) in Brotherhood. Then you’d have the perfect shounen. But until someone makes that anime, we’ll have to do with FMA.

12: Mushishi

Mushishi is a bit of an outlier from all these super dramatic anime that inhabit my favourites list. It’s quite calm and mellow, telling the story of a travelling doctor/merchant/expert on these mysterious creatures called mushi. But being mellow doesn’t stop it from being awe-inspiring and powerful in its actions and stories. It’s about the unflinching, uncaring and immoral awesome power of nature. The sort of frightened wonder you get from seeing an avalanche crush a suburb or a rainbow in a thunderstorm. Its quiet power is the source of its wonder.

11: Infinite Ryvius

Ryvius is painful to sit through. As the situation aboard the spaceship gets progressively worse with each episode, the viewing experience becomes even more gruelling and difficult to watch. You want these characters to get over their problems. To redeem themselves and succeed in their lives. Why can’t they all just get along? It’s a magnificent character study, probably the best out there. Plus, the ending makes it worth sitting through those previous gut-wrenching episodes.

10: Puella Magi Madoka Magica

One of the best told stories anime has ever produced. You know that because of how obvious each plot twist and revelation felt in retrospect. Everything about it was so deliberately set out to play with your expectations, dropping in plot twists just before you started expecting such a thing was going to happen. It was visually inventive too, with the Shaft visuals actually adding something to the story for a change, and included one of the greatest anime antagonists of all time. Kyubey you magnificent bastard, I will never forget you.

9: Legend of the Galactic Heroes

One day, your mind will start to stray. The latest moecrap that fans are going gaga over starts eroding your will to live. The moster-of-the-week old mecha show that was hyped up by older fans insults your intelligence. Eventually you’re mind will turn to that quietly yet relentlessly praised anime. If, after reading the reviews and the descriptions, you still want to check out this anime, then you have nothing to fear and everything to look forward to. For those who are the type of person to search out all 110 episodes of Legend of the Galactic Heroes will adore it. For that reason, I’ll never recommend this anime. For only you will know when you’re ready for it.

8: Gankutsuou

Want to show somebody what anime is truly capable of that no other medium of entertainment can properly convey? Shove a copy of Gankutsuou in their faces and let them watch and be amazed. Like the rest of my top 10, this is one of those shows in which everything clicks. Topped off by our favourite homoerotic Count, this paragraph is yet another letter mourning the loss of Gonzo in the anime world.

7: Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure (2012)

jojos-bizarre-adventure-joseph-caesar-posing

Let me blow your mind with a revelation: Style can be substance. The execution of a style can in itself be a reward with a lot of depth that informs an underlying narrative the story is trying to convey. Jojo’s is about over-dramatisation and the extremes through which humans can go. Through the ridiculous model stances the characters hold to the way they deliver their lines, they all inform this wider theme. The colour design is honestly my favourite part of this show because of how it feeds into this theme so completely. What’s most telling is how so much better this version of the Jojo’s manga is to the previous crappy OVA attempts, which goes to show how important the style is to realising its potential. Jojo’s is everything other shounen anime want to be.

6: Berserk

Berserk is flawless. There’s not one misstep throughout the entire series. No scene is shown without it having meaning. No twist is introduced without prior foreshadowing. Never once did the pacing drop or get too fast. Not once did a someone act out of character and their development all worked naturally. It all wraps in on itself to create one brilliant story. Berserk is perfect.

5: No Matter How I Look at It, It’s You Guys’ Fault I’m Not Popular!

vlcsnap-2013-08-01-11h59m09s24

Watamote is a highly focused single character study that goes straight into Tomoko’s deepest desires and fears. It follows her self-deception, loneliness and desperation as she comes to terms with her own social anxiety and tries to break free of it. The reason I hold the series in such high regard is because it does all this through the medium of comedy. It’s a stark yet sympathetic, unflinching and yet balanced portrayal of a lonely figure and never loses its sense of humour. This is what comedy is capable of achieving, and I wish more tried to do so.

4: Baccano

Baccano is distilled entertainment. This was 16 episodes of pure, unadulterated and mightily violent entertainment. Psychos bouncing off other psychos while the lesser nutters get out-nutted by the wilder folks as the crazed kids fight the sudden heroes and mass destruction on a small scale. There is no good and evil. Only nutters, and that’s how I like it.

3: Code Geass

Are you not entertained? Is this not why you are here? This is Code Geass, the series with the honour of giving the name to this very website you are reading. Yet even this blog is but a small shrine to a single second character in the almighty encompassing creation of the Code Geass universe. Do not be fooled, this anime will not be forgotten in the coming years. A modern classic in every sense of the word, I’ll make sure of that myself.

2: Legend of Black Heaven

The strangest thing about my love for Black Heaven is that I’m not the target audience for it. I was only 20 years old when I watched it, probably a bit young to be experiencing a midlife crisis don’t you agree? But the feelings and intentions got through to me. One giant metaphor through the medium of space opera and heavy metal just to convey the feelings of our ordinary salaryman going through an identity crisis. Imagine if the first time I watched this was when I was 40.

1: Death Note

Yeah, this is a really boring choice as number one isn’t it. It’s the most popular series on MAL and the most common one to rank inside peoples top 5. So why is it my number 1? Because it gave me the rush. It gave me a feeling of sheer energy and enthusiasm, as though there was nothing in my life that could possibly be more exhilarating than watching what was on my screen.

If you want our other writers’ individual lists:

Shinmaru’s Top 30Inushinde’s Top 30

Alternatively, you can read our joint Top 30.

128 thoughts on “Scamp’s top 30 anime

  1. I’m not going to lie, if it wasnt for Cowboy Bebop, I probably wouldnt be here typing away on this blog~

    Spike you sexy beast, I fangirled so hard over you.. I also met Steve Blum, god what a day that was XD

    BACCANO WAS SO AMAZING, I WATCHED IT TWICE IN THE SAME MONTH. Evangelion was.. ehh~ Death Note I find pretentious sorta, Geass was spoiled for me, still need to finish Kino’s Journey and Gankutstou, and MUSHISHI WAS FANTASTIC. NUFF SAID.

  2. going through the list i was like “yes this list is awesome” then i came to the #1 XD

    still an awesome list despite my personal dislike for DN 😛

  3. I swear, these posts are like the best thing for gathering info on the blogger’s tastes…

    The first thing that popped in my head was that your tastes are rather mainstream. My other thoughts are somewhere along the lines of you valuing entertainment above all else within a series, isn’t picky on where that entertainment derives from (but mostly action/wacko-comedy), loves eye candy, and require at least a moderately fast pacing.

  4. @luffyluffy

    It’s hard not to be spoiled for Geass. Heck, even this website by its very existance could be a spoiler, except I desperately try to keep any Geass spoilers when talking about the name

    @chii

    Huh, DN is popular amongst annoying emo kids (who make up a huge proportion of anime fandom) and weirdos like me.

    @Janette

    If K-ON is on that list of yours…..

    @Aorii

    The mainstream thing is something I wish I didn’t have. I really do try to watch obscure anime as well and have a list as crazy and diverse as psgels from Star Crossed but I always end up preffering the popular stuff. They’re popular for a reason I guess.

    Otherwise you’re pretty much right. Fast pacing isn’t a pre-requisite but definately preffered

  5. Awesome, it’s nice to see some love for Kaiba. Yet another series with a lot of good going for it that got lost in the shuffle.

    Looking at your list, I realize exactly how much anime I need to get watched at some point. I’ve heard of everything on the list, but I haven’t even seen half of it. Time to get to work I guess…

  6. Guu is one of anime’s greatest assholes. I like in comedy when writers are unafraid to make a character an enormous prick and be completely unapologetic about it without feeling the need to soften up that character and make ’em sympathetic or whatever. I don’t want to sympathize with Guu; I want to laugh at her making poor Hare’s life a living hell! (Tomo from Azumanga Daioh is like this for me, too, but even she is nowhere as huge an asshole as Guu.)

    The Roberta storyline from the first season is my favorite from Black Lagoon, but overall I’d agree the second season is superior to the first. Balalaika is the scariest woman ever.

    Maybe I’ll start cobbling together one of these posts pretty soon, too.

  7. No, like Scamp, Geass was spoiled so hard for me, that there was no point in watching it because I already knew what was going to happen.

    That didnt stop me for crying for a good half an hour during the final episode, and hitting my friend for laughing at it XD

  8. No FLCL makes me a little sad. Other than that, cool list bro. There are about six or so I haven’t seen yet that I have to get around to.

  9. Back when all the bloggers were posting their top 5 lists, I rarely saw Death Note. Maybe it’s because bloggers have seen more anime than your typical fan. Maybe it’s a subconscious aversion to praising anything mainstream. I’m guessing a little of both.

  10. @Rakuen

    I’m happy with the level of praise Kaiba got. It was far too bizarre to ever get that much but it certainly got enough praise to convince a fair few non-mainstream fans to watch it. Hoping that something like Kaiba will ever be a big hit is stupid and all you can hope is that it becomes a cult hit. Which it pretty much did

    @Shinmaru

    Guu is joint top as my favourite character of all time alongside L. I think I inherantly like characters with short names or something. My third favourite is Horo. But yeah, Guu is amazing.

    @luffyluffy

    The final episode of Geass is the greatest anime ending of all time by a country mile. Heck, I named this blog after the ending. If that doesn’t show my love for it then I don’t know what does

    @vucubcaquix

    I like FLCL a lot but it doesn’t make the list. I’ve seen a LOT of great anime. Although I’ve also seen a lot of terrible anime, such is the glorious diversity of this medium of entertainment we are all so enamoured by

    @Poro

    Different era? Are you talking timeframe? These are all pretty evenly spread out over the last decade. Are you an oldfag?

    @Baka-Raptor

    I’d assumed at the time that it was because the people doing those lists were all moefags but even when people with similar taste to me starting making those ‘best of the decade’ lists there was a painful lack of DN. They didn’t seem to have a problem with putting in any other mainstream hit like Geass, Gurren Lagann, Haruhi etc. so I don’t think they’re against mainstream. Also unlike other shounen hits like Bleach it’s generally very highly praised and well-rated. It seems to be restricted to anime bloggers.

    I guess they just have no taste

  11. Well, the general fan opinion of Death Note is that it is really good through the first two-thirds, and the final third takes a dip in quality — the size of that dip is debated (I probably like it more than a fair number of people), but it is a dip nonetheless. I like Death Note’s ending, and all, but it’s a good end to a story that isn’t quite as good near the end as in the middle. So maybe that’s one reason why people don’t include it in their favorites.

    (Then again, that doesn’t really explain Code Geass being on favorites lists since Geass season one vs. R2 caused a WAY bigger shitstorm than did any decline in Death Note’s story. Maybe people just responded to Geass more since it is more melodramatic than Death Note — and that’s saying something!)

    For me personally Death Note is a good series, but I wouldn’t put it on my favorites list because it didn’t quite connect with me on the level I expect a favorite to do. It’s similar to Baccano! in that way — very entertaining, and I’m a definite fan, but it never formed that connection with me.

    Different people look for different things, though. I certainly won’t fault anyone for having Death Note on a favorites list.

  12. @Scamp
    I wasn’t implying that Kaiba would ever go mainstream. That’d be about as crazy as saying everyone should go watch Banner of the Stars ASAP. I’d rather wish that more people give it a chance. Perhaps that’s foolish as well, but I think we all secretly hope that someone will find our personal cult classics and enjoy them.

  13. I’m somewhat irritated by how few of these I’ve seen. Especially as many of them are shows that everyone knows. And I have heard of most of them…=.=

    Death Note is a good show, but I don’t think I’d put it as number one…I just didn’t feel that exhilarated by L’s rambling and Kira’s overly dramatic moments of thought.

  14. Goddammit. I told myself I’d avoid doing a “all-time favorite” list so soon after doing my “best of the decade” stuff, but I wanna do one now. shakes fist angrily

    I’m ashamed to say I’ve never seen Kaiba or Mushishi. I need to get around to those two sometime soon. I’m also surprised to see Hare + Guu in someone’s top ten. It’s a pretty awesome series (although I’ve only seen about half of it, need to remedy THAT too), but hardly anyone talks about it. Guu is insane and evil in all the right ways.

    The only series on your list that’d make me cry out “NO WAY NOT THAT!” is Love Hina, but I won’t argue against nostalgia. I’m sure I’ll have a couple of nostalgic choices on my own list.

  15. This list is good and valid. I’ve seen most of these shows, but I will make an effort to see the ones I don’t like, because I don’t think that there’s a single show on this list that I’ve seen that I don’t like (except for Bakemonogatari, which I am struggling with, although I think I’m starting to like it more…I think).

    I thought that the second season of FMP was 10000 times better than the first. But they were still both good.

  16. Wow, I… wasn’t actually expecting to have seen so many of your favorites! I agree with nearly all of them, but I just have to say–

    Haibane Renmei. I can’t believe you’ve actually seen it, for one. It’s probably my all-time favorite anime, but nobody has actually seen it, yet. You have! Incredible. After hearing all of your talk about how yuri anime are all just girls being nice to each other and how boring that sort of thing is (…not that Haibane Renmei is yuri, obviously), I never would’ve thought that you’d be able to sit through Haibane Renmei, since nearly all of it at the beginning is just that… on the surface, anyway.

    Would you mind telling me what you liked about Haibane Renmei? Or disliked. ‘Cause I’m just amazed, really, and I’d love to hear what you have to say about it.

  17. @Shinmaru

    I will admit that the last third is nowhere near as good as the first two. From a more objective point of view Baccano is probably better. However Death Note is my ‘favourite’ and there’s an important difference there.

    @mefloraine

    It’s because I have mainstream tastes. Therefore, everyones heard of the anime I love

    @Landon

    Mushishi has become a ‘must-watch’ in anime fandom by this stage, such is the level of praise it gets. I went into it thinking ‘huh. stupid elitists’ and left thinking ‘…wow’. It’s definately far removed from the usual ‘PHWOAR’ that most of my top 30 is made up of but that only adds to the power of my reccomendation because it’s not something I’d normally love. So yeah, watch Mushishi

    @Glo

    This list has been Glo validated (trademark)

    @Monsturr

    True, Haibane Remnei isn’t the type of thing I usually watch and I don’t like either of the other ABe works (Lain and Texyloyze) but Haibane is different. It was one of those rare occasions where an anime has absolutely no flaws in its story-telling. It felt so well-constructed and there was so much lying under the surface. My favourite memory of Haibane was that I used to watch an episdoe or two before I went to bed and, asides from sending my straight to sleep, I had the most unusual dreams.

  18. Coincidentally, I also recently realized that I never made a post about my favorite anime, so I went ahead and did that a few weeks ago (my top 50 though).

    Lots of great shows here. It’s nice to see Chobits so high on your list. It doesn’t get the love it deserves among CLAMP’s other titles. And although it’s not my absolute favorite, Death Note is always a winner in my book (I think it was 11th on my list).

  19. I’m most impressed by how high Last Exile is ranked. For ages I always hear people said how mediocre it was especially the ending but I never got that cause every time I watched it, it was perfect 🙂

    (I’m late in commenting, again)

  20. You like thrilling and high-octane, I like thoughtful and sentimental. Not that we’re exclusive about our preferences in anime or otherwise, but that’s the trend I see between your top favorites and mine. And sometimes there’s a show that combines the best of both worlds, and everybody’s happy.

  21. @Yumeka

    I’ve yet to really love any of the other Clamp titles (Geass doesn’t count) but I’ve only tried Kobato and XXXHolic. And hurrah for some more Death Note love. This post has shown me how it seems to have remarkably little love amongst the aniblogsphere

    @Canne

    I can see why someone who isn’t into that genre might not like Last Exile but it was basically everything I love about anime packed into one title. It never amazed me entirely in any particular area but was excellent in every area I cared about

    @kadian1364

    Yup, my anime mentallity is very much ‘entertain me’, hence I’m not one for human drama. Thougtful however I do appriciate although maybe not as much as you

  22. Is Gankut­suou an Bishonen-Anime, like Hetalia? The picture made me curious. And the guy on the left looks like France. And he’s dressed like France. THERE ARE EVEN ROSES.
    And I’m watching Hare+Guu now, thanks to you. It’s weird, yet awesome. Poor Hare. The opening freaked me out. Dancing… palms… and the cats…

    1. Yay, more people watching Hare Guu! That can only be a good thing.

      Gankutsuou characters…well, I suppose they are very fabulous and stuff. It’s very artsy animation so I never really noticed the bishie-ness of the character designs, although there is a hell of a lot of homo-erotic vibes from the whole thing

      1. Thats even better.
        After Hare+Guu, I’m so gonna watch this. There will never be enough fabulous homoerotic France-Guys with roses for me.

        Oh, and Guu is now on my “Scary”-List on number one, she topped Russia. She’s also now my favourite anime girl, even before Osaka. And thats something to top. Damn, one can never tell whats shes thinking. And her bored expression is awesome. Thats the kind of… (what exactly is she?) I never want to meet, but enjoy to watch making everyones life miserable.

      2. Oh, and want I also find quite good is that Hare sounds actually like a boy and not like a girl with a little lower voice, even though he’s just 10 (But, I’m on to episode 7 now and he’s 11)

  23. Why don’t you have Bleach on here?!? I swear I will hunt you down and kill you. Oh well, though, I think out of the animes on this list you were right to pick death note as number 1. It’s suspense and watching Kira and L, then Kira and Near duke it out was incredibly exhilerating. If you havn’t watched it, or will not watch it in the next 30 minutes, shame on you

      1. Nyeh, Bleach doesn’t suck. At least not the first season. This season was really great. The Soul Society arc was good, yet confusing, but not as good as the first, but after that it’s just bad anymore. In the latest chapters, Aizen transforms into a giant condom with high heels and a mullet. Don’t believe me?
        Here.
        http://www.onemanga.com/Bleach/404/01/
        http://www.onemanga.com/Bleach/404/08/
        http://www.onemanga.com/Bleach/406/16/
        I spy with my little eye, and theres something beginng with gay condom.
        Oh, and you converted me to a Hare+Guu Fan. Guu is the most awesome person in the universe.

  24. 2 weeks ago i looked at the list when seto no hanayome and kinos journey were on the list, and i watched them both only to find they are off the list. Its all good tho cuz i saw durarara as well, and good choice for #1 and 3. Lelouche and Light are the best characters but i dont really like their endings-let the bad guy win for once.

    1. Tastes change over time. There’s always more anime to watch, waiting to get into this list.

      Aint anime fabulous~!

  25. I feel like that when you swap an anime out, it deserves an honorable mention spot or something…it’s sad to see something you spent thought on typing gone.

    1. Fair point. I might make a seperate post when I next update this list that holds the things I said about those that dropped out of the top 30.

  26. Wow!Mind blowing list.
    As I was reading and arriving at 1,I was wondering why there wasn’t Death Note,and there you go! #1 !!

    And I like your perspective about animes!
    There are many animes which I haven’t yet seen.So I have a long way to go!
    I heard so much about Baccano from all blogs.I tried episode 1 but didn’t continue later.I guess I’ll have to reconsider my decision,if everyone says it’s good,then it has to be definitely!!
    Well you could have included Clannad & After Story in your list.Wasn’t that impressive to you?I guess many people don’t prefer it,I don’t know why!

  27. Nice list, though only a few of them would be in my top 30. Guess we have different tastes 😉

    Nothing wrong with Death Note being your favorite (I have a “generic” #1 favorite too, Haruhi). Just ’cause it’s really popular doesn’t necessarily mean it’s overrated =)

  28. Great list. especially #1 and 3. I think it was sometime after i finished code geass that I couldnt really satisfy my taste for a good show. The Main character has to really grab me in. I was able to get into Berserk and suprisingly School Rumble because of the characters. Bacanno and Durarara were great shows, but the thing that got me with those 2 was their characters. Bacanno never stayed on 1 character for too long, but it was just epic in general. Durarara although weirdly great, the “leader” of the dollars didn’t impress me as a person….
    I could go on an on, but i need to find another Light or Lelouche, and sometimes even a Luffy to get that rush during a show.

  29. Ummm… nice list.

    I can understand the love for most of them (especially Gankutsuou, LOTGH and Mushishi), but I have to say Love Hina, School Rumble, DN and Geass are big NO´s for me.

    Especially, Geass to me was the biggest unintentional anime comedy I have ever seen and I couldn´t stop laughing every episode.

  30. For me, Code Geass is my all-time favorite. I was reluctant to have a popular show as my favorite, but eh. Maybe I like it even more than most people. I feel like I’m going to be comparing it a lot to Galactic Heroes…

  31. Some great choices =D
    First of all I agree on your opinion on the ending to Code Geass season two, it is without a doubt the best ending to a series ever and it probably always will. I saw it with my best friend and as my tears ran down my cheek I looked over and saw tearfilled eyes met mine. Thats what makes a friend, sharing this stuff.

    Secondly…your comment on Chobits made my heart warm up =D Love Hina was the fourth anime I watched, the first three were Pokemon, Dragonball and Sailormoon…(because they were on televsion at the time) then as the yeras went by I bought Manga mania (kinda like Shounen Jump) and it had Love Hina as the opening manga…the third one was Chobits… And not only was the first feeling of real love for anime there while I read and later watched it but it ignited a new love for CLAMP and so many of their series (which brings us back to Code Geass). I’m kinda surprised you didn’t include either xxxHolic or Tsubasa Chronicles but then i remembered there not even close to the manga original with their intertwined storyline.

    Finaly….Death Note. It is one of the best Anime series of all time PERIOD. Just seing Light do the pen move gives me chills all over. The best moment in ther whole thing must be…no wait…mayor spioler…oh well…another time, another note…

    …Another Note, Death Note, The Los Angeles BB Murder Cases is a must read for all DN fans. It’s a Light Novel by NISIOISIN.

  32. Death Note? It was always so meh for me. Like Code Geass. I guess that evil protagonist arent my cup of tea.

    And no Clannad (or Kanon 2006)? No Higurashi? No Hokuto no Ken?

    And cheers for including Millenium Actress… manly tears… Hotaru no Haka is worthy to be in any top 30 too.

    PD: Hare+guu… awesome. That show need more love… and a sequel.

    1. I’m not a fan of melodrama nor moe, so obviously no Clannad/Kanon type stuff. Haven’t seen Higurashi nor Exploding Horses Ken yet

  33. All the shows that are on this list that I am yet to watch…
    I sure as hell am going to now…

      1. B-But Yu Yu Hakusho is good… (<– one of my first anime, so I'm biased, of course.)
        Another good shounen is Psyren, but it's still a manga, so I suppose you won't take a look at it… sigh (it's one of those rare shounen series that actually manage to finish, if you want to take a look at it. It also gets better after a few chapter rawr rawr rawr. Actually, better wait for it to get a anime. That's one of thoe that would make an awesome anime series.) It's a horror shounen taht later turns more into action. It's awesome.

      2. Doubt there’ll be an anime of it. Those idiots don’t know which manga should get animated. Always creating fag harem, ecchi anime. Ugh….

  34. Amazing top 30 list. I still need to watch most of those, but the ones I agree totally with the ones that I’ve seen on your list. Especially Legend of the Galactic Heroes. I did not choose it; it chose me. I’m not a couple of episodes in, and I’m glad that I am finally watching it.

  35. scamp,

    what would you recommend for me to watch if I really enjoyed Code Geass and Death Note? I heard Monster is a pretty similar type and a good one, but I would like your opinion on what anime you think is also just as amazing or probably just similar to Death note/Code Geass. Thanks

    1. One Outs, Legend of the Galactic Heroes, Gankutsuou, Gundam 00…err, actually this is harder than I thought it would be

      1. Seen it. It’s a cool show, but Temna was a boring lead and I didn’t like how the show meandered away from its main story so much

      2. Thanks for your answer. I understand your opinion, they overdid depicting Johan’s evilness with side stories&extra characters. And voice actors should have amazed every viewer – they are all seasoned veterans.

  36. Just found your blog today, linked to those awesome charts you make. Great videos reviews too, very funny.

    Good picks on this list. It’s always great to find more people who understand that Mushishi is a masterpiece.

    I’m surprised you like Baccano so much more than Durarara though. I thought the latter had the much better cast, especially in Celty and Shizuo whereas in Baccano the train sequence with Ladd, Claire, and Chane was the only part I really cared for.

    I realize ordering your favorite animes is tough since there are so many to like but I have to wonder if you’ve watched Katanagatari for it to not be on this list. Didn’t see any mention of it in a search.

    Anyway, congrats on your 3 years. Keep up the good work.

  37. A little surprised that i didn’t saw crest of the stars series but oh well, at least someone i can relate a little

  38. Well, this has been very enlightening to read, and I think I’ve found some new series to watch. By luck or by chance, I happened upon some of these series very early on in my anime-watching years, which most certainly contributed to my love of anime. These awesome shows are as follows, in no particular order:

    Cowboy Beebop, Fullmetal Alchemist

    Probably about the only time that I’ll forgive myself for watching these shows with English dubs, simply because they helped me get started.

    Samurai Champloo, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

    I’m glad that I watched those shows at night after my parents told me to go to sleep. They proved to be worth every minute of my time.

    Death Note, Fullmetal Alchemist (again)

    That Japanese culture class in 7th grade was worth it, even though we did nothing but watch anime most of the time.

    Love Hina, Last Exile, Chobits, Bakemonogatari, Code Geass, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Durarara, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, Puella Magi Madoka Magica, Seto no Hanayome, Black Lagoon (both first and second seasons)

    Probably where I am now, when I finally started looking around on the internet for shows to watch a couple years ago. It’s a crying shame though, that there are so many moeblob and throwaway shows now, and so very few shows of such supreme quality that I’ve come to look for over and over again. I’m a sucker for good animation, and very few storylines are up to par, but nothing beats these jewels that swim in the sea.

    Who knows what the future holds though? One can only hope that there is more yet to come…

      1. ha we have very different tastes but your lists all have anime that i did enjoy. When i hear about a good show in a season I usually wait til its 90% finished til i start watching so i remember more of the things that happend & they become much more enjoyable to watch. I was never able to get into Ghost in the Shell no matter how much i tried to like it so i would of put Steins;Gate around there, along with Casshern Sins o_0 lol

  39. Sir, are you still going to update you list? 🙂
    Or maybe try to make another top list by genre(?).

    This maybe irrelevant: I subscribe to in this blog.

    Waiting for you next updates.

  40. Man Gonzo was pretty awesome when it tried. Watching Welcome to the NHK and Last Exile for the first time and learning that anime isn’t a never ending cavalcade of monster of the week shows. Good times.

    1. Well NHK is good but it’s a shame Last Exile is nothing more than a terrible harem. Was it really necessary for every female character to be falling over his dick?

      Normally I would go on about how much better Fam is, but given its latest episode it’s a bit difficult for me to claim it’s not going that route as well. So instead I’ll just say lesbian harems > straight ones and leave it at that.

  41. Until now, the only ones that wouldn’t show up on my list are: Gurren Lagan, Samurai Champloo, Cromartie and Arakawa. I slept while watching Lagan, until episode 8, when I finally woke up. I didn’t count how much times I yawned while watching Champloo (the baseball episode was the last straw, so I just skipped it). And japanese comedy seldom makes me laugh. I guess only Gintama and High school boys for me.

  42. I really must thankyou for this list. Seeing some of my favourites among your top 30 led me to believe that we somewhat have similar tastes and standards…and I haven’t been disappointed yet. I immensely enjoyed Cowboy Bebop (a show I naively ignored due to its OP many years ago…I know, what was I thinking). Just recently I finished Berserk…MORE PEOPLE NEED TO WATCH THIS. #183 on myanimelist rankings is not good enough!! It’s one of few anime that made me want to marathon it. I definitely need to read the manga. I just started ryvius and galactiv heroes, hopefully they hold up as well. Props to you for allowing me to discover some anime gems.

  43. I don’t like your top 60 that much (this and the other post) There’s too much shit over there, half of them I say.

    And you do seem to hate extremely intelligent and actually good animes don’t you? Jin-Roh, Lain, Texhnolyze, RahXephon, etc. I guess you’re like 90% of the people who prefer easy and mindless entertainment AKA Code Geass , Black Lagoon, Hellsing, TTGL (stupid as hell), Love Hina, blablabla.

    1. Boy I sure do hate intelligent anime, like Ghost in the Shell, Millenium Actress, Gankutsuou, LoGH, Mushishi, Kaiba, Ryvius, Evangelion…oh wait. Welp, since I hate your favourite intelligent anime then clearly I’m an idiot

    2. I think this guy is forgetting that any “top” list is just about our own personal favorites, not necessarily about the “best” shows ever, and opinions/interests can definitely vary.

      Also, I’d say a few of those shows he’s called mindless have at least some genuinely interesting parts or characters beyond their entertainment value, even if it is not the central aspect involved. Trying to fit everything into a neat little box is a bad idea.

  44. I just finished Berserk. It didn’t quite met my expectations… Or I should say, I received a whole different package. I was expecting a low-fantasy in which the main characters trying to survive in a demon-infested world. I was ready for a lot of supernatural elements.

    Another factor I didn’t watch it the “right” way is because of one comment on your favourite characters list. Baka-Raptor spoiled how Griffith sacrificed everyone at the end. If I had not read that, I would have been able to enjoy and perhaps even fascinated by his character instead of putting my guard up involuntarily every time he shows up on screen.

    Frankly, this anime left me a little confused. I could not really understand what I just watched… If not for your and Shinmaru’s other posts on it. And the reason I’m typing this is because I couldn’t forget. I couldn’t forget the sheer horror I felt watching the last episode. Also perhaps the fact that I couldn’t appreciate what most people hail as a masterpiece left me feeling a little insecure.

    I may need to re-watch this some other time, along with Full Metal Panic.

  45. Hey I watched a lot of animes from this list and I enjoyed all of them. I was wondering if you’d plan on updating your top 30 anytime soon since it was 2 years ago that you posted this.

    Thanks!

  46. Aquarion Evol made it to the list!
    Scamp, you never cease to amaze me.
    I can already see Evangelion being downgraded to the top 60 if things keep going this way. Well, I’ve had enough of the Evangelion worshipping anyway.

  47. Well thought out list! I have not seen about half of these animes; however, there are some of my favorites on here!

    I think that if people like what they see they may also like…Steins Gate.
    Just a suggestion though.

    Thank you for taking the time out to post this list!

  48. This is an amazing list…. I did think darker than black could of been in the list even towards the 60’s…. i know this is gonna cause a riot but Naruto is the best selling anime ever and does have a well developed story and memorable characters, it deserves a spot….somewhere!

    Also Thankyou very much i have discovered many gr8 anime from this list… And yes Cromartie High School does have the best first episode EVER!!!!

  49. I think you made a good point about style/substance with Jojo’s. I actually got that idea more from FLCL than Jojo’s, but Jojo’s definitely has it.

  50. Hah, despite saying I would wait, I ended up putting Jojo on my top anime list prematurely just like you did. And then I watched the latest episode after I put it on, which knocked it up even more. Goddamn that show is awesome.

    Anyways, I haven’t seen all of the stuff on your list, but you tend to gravitate towards anime I enjoy more than most people based on this list alone. Only stuff on here I don’t like (that I’ve seen) are Gurren Lagann and Death Note, but they’re not of the “aw, not that one!” variety of dislike I have towards a bunch of popular stuff. Bakemonogatari as well, but you recently took that off.

  51. Good list and a fun read.
    2006 was such a good year for anime that it produced number 1 and 3 on your list, but a 2006 show that is missing from your list and is in mine personal list of top 5 anime is The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Having seen anime weekly from the end of 2005, few series were that fun and awesome to watch every week. Don’t know if you have seen it but in terms of pure entertainment it was gold.
    Also an anime I like very much is Full Metal Panic! – Fumoffu – TSR. again pure entertainment and Fumoffu is still by far the funniest anime I’ve seen.
    I have watched almost your entire list but Legend of Black Heaven has eluded me. I will definitely check it out.
    Again thanks for sharing your list and thoughts.

    1. Cheers for the comment!

      I returned to the FMP franchise quite recently, and Fumoffu never quite clicked with me the same way the original FMP does. I still liked it though. You can see FMP in my 31-60 list, it only just failed to make the top 30.

      As for Haruhi, I’ve never really got into it. Part of that is it’s a victim of circumstance, but mostly I just don’t like those kinds of light novel shows

      1. Read your posts about Haruhi and FMP, and now I can understand why they aren’t ranked higher on your anime ranking list. I guess how and when you watch a certain show really is crucial to how you view it. unlike you, I watched FMP very early in my anime craze, so I really didn’t have a lot to compare it to, but it clicked for me and even now I don’t over analyze it and just enjoy the ride. as for Haruhi, like I said, I watched it weekly and had some anime knowledge to appreciate certain things and I just felt that it was different and awesome for it’s time and really well done.
        This discussion reminds that I have a bunch of awesome anime waiting to be watched on my computer. nothing beats good old anime marathoning 🙂

  52. I’ve been a fan of Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure (the manga) since 2007 and it’s easily my favorite manga, even I wouldn’t put it as high on my list as you did (10-8 I guess), cool! Now if we could get the other arcs confirmed…..

  53. I tried to enjoy jojo’s bizarre adventure, I really did … but the notion of grabbing suspension of disbelief and smashing it into the ground repeatedly, then curbstomping it and eviscerating it for good measure just didn’t sit well with me. I understand that style is a method of conveying ideas (although such notions remind of dreary english classes where we’re supposed to relate the rhyme, meter, and devices of a poem to its theme, regardless of what the poem actually says). The idea conveyed, however, notably this idea of “the extremes through which humans can go”, seems fairly shallow as an idea to me (nor does Jojo’s style seem to be essential in conveying such an idea). All of these flaws could be forgiven if the show entertained me, but by abandoning suspension of disbelief Jojo and Dio were no longer characters, but simply images with narration; the medium itself had fundamentally lost me. Again, being batshit insane isn’t itself a bad thing; baccano, for example, thrived on chaos and sheer ridiculousness. Baccano, however, sets out simply to entertain; in the same manner that I don’t have to personally relate to instrumental music to be entertained by it, so too does Baccano create entertainment simply in the interplay of one-dimensional characters. Jojo’s, however, by virtue of being a shounen, needs to develop its characters, which is difficult when they are already on binaries further apart than God and Satan himself.

    1. Can’t really disagree with any of this, except some of the things you said I feel are positives. Because it breaks all suspension of disbelief, the characters become ideas, which has been something I personally have always liked. A lot of my favourites follow this style as well. Baccano is kind of the reverse in that they represent nothing but their own personalities, and that is what drives the sort-of non-existent story. I disagree that Jojo’s needs to develop its characters by virtue of being shounen. The shounen story itself needs to develop, but not the people within it. The story changes because of how each idea interacts.

      …hope this makes sense. I’m not going to pretend Jojo’s is particularly deep, and neither is Baccano. The two of them are more raw entertainment value. But they do have something to say with their styles, whether it be Baccano’s meta-commentary on story-telling or Jojo’s extreme soap-opera performance.

      1. First off, thanks for replying to my comment! 😀 As someone who’s read this blog for a few months now, making that switch from lurker to participant was a quite a leap, and to see you respond personally is very encouraging.

        I think I can see how people enjoy jojo’s, in that it can be seen as pure allegory, as a modern incarnation of the Hellenistic mythical tradition (at least in the Jungian sense where Zeus and all the gods are simply archetypes for innate forces within all humans). But, for me at least, in order to be an entertaining allegory, there has to be some deep idea that manifests itself, and I just can’t find it in jojo’s. Even baccano you mention as being meta-commentary on the notion of the story (which it is, and it’s style effectively poses the question “what constitutes literature?”). Jojo’s you mention as being operatic in style; but where is the point of such a style? I’m just left unsatisfied with “the highs and lows of human emotion” because jojo’s is very clearly not meant to invoke empathy/sympathy, or it wouldn’t break suspension of disbelief and turn its characters into ideas. Mawaru penguindrum pissed me off for similar reasons, until I did extensive reading on Aum and the Sarin Gas attacks and realized the nature of ikuhara’s targeted message (esp since it came so soon on the heels of 3/11). Without a similar revelation, I can’t buy that jojo’s style is so incredible that it carries the series to top 10 anime ever produced. To me, that’s like lauding guilty crown for its high production values. Ultimately, such a call is highly subjective but that’s my position on style vs. substance.

        Damn this got really long. The TL;DR would probably be “what is the message that Jojo’s style imparts? Because jersey shore also sells pure over-dramatization, but that doesn’t compel me to call it a good show”.

      2. In the time since I wrote this “critique” I’ve seen a good deal more anime. While deep messages still turn me on (saw TTGL and was compelled to reread Thus Spoke Zarathustra since they’re basically the same thing) I also chanced upon a certain scene from episode 8 of Nisemonogatari.

        In this scene, I was presented with content that, if described verbally, would make me gag. A sick joke.

        What I saw was sublime directing, a perfectly done score, and ultimately, a work of art. I could not help but be enamored, and it was to some degree terrifying to realize just how much influence the execution of a premise has on my overall reception to it.

        I’m forced to admit that style supecedes substance. It scares me, but it’s an undeniable fact of life. If you can take incestuous toothbrushing and make it palatable, enjoyable even, through pure execution then content is virtually irrelevant. That may or may not be a good thing. But it’s something I now accept.

        Still don’t like JoJo’s though -_-

  54. After reading the top 60 of Scamp’s anime, lurk a lot in this blog archives, I know what kind anime that Scamp likes and the reason why series like SE Lain couldn’t get on the list. Most of the anime Scamp like must highly entertaining, and SE Lain, being serious as it is failed to do so as I read. He prefer style over substance, although not to the extremes as many of these “stylish” anime have their substance as well.

    Let me make literature comparison. There is substance heavy classic, and style heavy classic. The former is like The Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. The Heart of Darkness he wrote after witnessed such colonialism brutality in Africa brought such ideas and susbtance that overshadow the rest of novel style. The novel substance itself is so heavy that many experts in literature even found it really hard to read it. But the substance alone make it worth reading, while in the it would make a good intelectual exercise, it would not entertain you as much as other Joseph Conrad stories. Meanwhile, the latter is like Jane Austen’s novels, particulary Pride and Prejudice. It substance is not that revolutionary, and might be obsolete by today’s standard. But her style make her novel highly entertaining, and combined with right writing skills, her novel doesn’t ended up only as forgettable pulp fiction, but make it into the classics.

    Style itself isn’t necessary bad. So what if an entertainment or a fiction have more style over substance? It still needs writing skill to create a fiction that excell at either one of those. Style, with the lack of substance is only worth of a pulp fiction while substance in absence of style is pretentious. If it well written, and solid, then it is a good piece of fiction. There is no thing such as substance is harder to come by than style.

    The comment that substance is everything and style is nothing irks me to the point I make this post. Its like you don’t like moeshits and blamed it on Slice-of-lice genre, not the author crappy writing skills.

    1. Champloo at 29: “WTF … Space Dandy’s gonna knock Champloo off at this rate”
      As i’m going down the list: “The rest of these feel a little off …”
      Watamote at 5: explodes

      1. Yeah I’m quite surprised and saddened that champloo is so low but that’s just my inner fanboy speaking. Did adding watamote make you change it?

  55. I for one am glad of Watamote’s position, even if I found several of the episodes completely boring and skipped #12 after that particular post on it. Even if only a little more than half worked for me, those few were great enough to make drool in the conception of many more.

    I just wish several of these shows didn’t exist so FMP would be on here :3

  56. I started watching Aquarion Evol. I like how such a silly, dramatic show opens with the main character watching a silly, dramatic movie and embracing it even though it’s dumb.

Leave a comment