Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls In a Dungeon episode 1 – My pickup artist grandpa told me

Dungeon ni Deai o Motomeru no wa Machigatte Iru Darouka - 01 - Large 15The new season has only just started. I got my first post out of the way yesterday. I thought to myself “good job Scamp, time to head to work and then watch another new episode tomorrow”. Then I come home and suddenly like 10 first episodes are out and I’m already so behind the times that I’m calling people dadio and just discovered what Rickrolling is. What happened to the days when anime would be more evenly spaced out? Instead the overlords of anime just dumped everything on over the weekend and all I’ve seen so far are two bloody JC Staff shows. Right, less moaning, more first impressions.

Dungeon ni Deai o Motomeru no wa Machigatte Iru Darouka - 01 - Large 33Dungeon Pickup Artist is going to be the next Sword Art Online, isn’t it? Asides from the obvious “boy trapped in a video game” story. Yeah they pretend it’s not but who are we kidding. For one, it’s just about non-shit enough. Which sounds like a weird thing to say, but there’s nothing immediately putting it out there as being instantly shit. It has an understandable premise in a guy wanting to be strong to impress a pretty lady he saw. It’s understandable with its video game terminology. The animation is average and consistent. It takes itself seriously enough that people can allow themselves to be emotionally invested in the story. If it was so obviously shitty from the off it wouldn’t get people on board.

What starts to get me iffy on this is how it starts lining up these ladies for our main character. It already has the message that if you get strong at video games (yeah I know not video game but again who are we kidding) then ladies will fall for you. It feels like self-insert fanfiction for a generic fantasy JRPG in which he gets all the pretty ladies in the game to fall for him because of how strong he becomes. The main character isn’t exactly unlikable. Heck there’s something a bit adorable about his earnest attitude. But the way the story is set up, and knowing all too well how these stories usually go, make me wary about devoting any emotional attachment to this character’s arc.

Dungeon ni Deai o Motomeru no wa Machigatte Iru Darouka - 01 - Large 18I might be more charitable towards it if any of the humour worked. The one part that drew a Mona Lisa smile from me was when the main character mentioned how his grandpa told him to become strong so he can pick up girls in dungeons, which put to mind the image of this real eccentric old man perv and our main character idolising him made that funny. Except even that joke seemed to be unintentional because they didn’t frame that scene the way they framed any of the other jokes with either the barmaid of the customs officer. Or even his awful goddess friend for whom the majority of the humour and character revolves around, all of it being that she wants his dick. It reminds me of that awful light novel adaptation from a year or so ago, Unbreakable Machine Doll. Do you remember Unbreakable Machine Doll? Good, you shouldn’t. Because it was awful. This is better. But I still have no faith in it.

18 thoughts on “Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls In a Dungeon episode 1 – My pickup artist grandpa told me

    1. I dropped that show and I want to call you have shite taiste but you have Love Live gravatar right now so we’re OK

  1. I wish these shows would stop doing the harem thing, i have truly awful taste, so i always like to see how these characters “break the system” to become all OP and stuff, but then they bog the pace down with all this harem stuff, its just sad.

    1. I wouldn’t mind the central romance part, gets saved by super strong girl has crush on her and works hard at getting stronger. Not very original but workable. The harem part makes everything so predictable because there can’t be too much progress with the main one because they need to keep his others options open. Also harem romances have the annoying format of “everyone obviously wants the MC but the MC is dense like a neutron star.”

      Anyway I have read part of the manga for this it is okay for what it is but nothing more. (I sometimes like reading trashy mangas it is kinda relaxing.)

    2. I’ve taken to inherently disliking the harem format. I mean for Christ sake people, it’s literally called the harem genre. Come on!

    1. The bigger question is how does the ribbon that holds her boobs up stay up itself? It’s not tied to her arms or her dress. It’s just floating there, unsupported…

      1. There’s obviously a pulley system on her back with two heavy weights compensating for her useless meat.

  2. I actually watched all of Machine Doll. I didn’t actively regret it? I guess I’ll watch the first ep of this too.

    ……..I do feel this was not the intended result.

      1. I’m sure GG-ers (if they are who I think you’re talking about) like Bayonetta. A lot. Still probably better not to talk about it.

  3. I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your content.

    This great article has really peaked my interest.
    I’m going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new details about
    once per week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

Leave a comment