21 thoughts on “June 2014 Roundup

  1. Tanikaze isn’t just a Yuji Everylead. He’s also one of those “invincible heroes that are supposed to be flawed but aren’t flawed at all” protagonists that have been on the rise lately. Sidonia gets mad points for being fun despite that bad combination in your lead, but it does drag the show down quite a bit.

    1. The only time Tanikaze had a chance to show that he could fuck up, it was really Kunato being a prick. Was pretty disappointed by that. Also wasn’t too keen on a lot of the character interactions with the chicks on Sidonia, made the show feel like it was a dumb LN adaptation some times.

      1. Yeah…
        It seems the “popular” elements are turn-off for me.

        At least, Izana has all the best faces. (Izana and Bear Dorm Matron are the reasons I still like this serie).

      2. Does Tankikaze even interact with any other men aside from Kunato? His entire day-to-day existence seems to revolve around females.

  2. I was thinking that Scamp would have Haikyuu!! as his Hot anime because of the wealth of screenshots it’s provided for him. I thought those scornful looks would be the only thing Scamp ever needed.

    1. I do like Haikyuu, but I wish it would get to matches of actual value and weight soon. I’m bored of team building

  3. Even though I’m no longer watching Hunter X Hunter and Stardust Crusaders (for now), I know they are faithful enough to the source material to form an opinion.

    I agree with both picks for “hot” and “Not so hot” respectively. Even though the Chimera ant arc went SUUUPER slow the final moments were the most engaging and emotionally swaying scenes in the entire series thus far. Stardust Crusaders is repetitive and the fights are more often than not in great favor to the protagonists, namely Jotaro. Introducing the brilliant Stand concept does not make the origin story genius itself. And I don’t mean intellectual genius.

  4. Mushishi S2 is what I looked forward to every week and I’m glad there’ll be more. Some episodes hit close to home and left a substantial impact. They had me pondering not only the episode’s content and how it relates to the series as a whole but also how it relates to my current situation. I got absorbed in the mood while experiencing this one.

    1. Mushishi was great, but I felt some of its middle early and middle episodes were the strongest and got a little weaker towards the end. Still fantastic, but not the dizzying heights it reached earlier on

  5. I didn’t know the roundups had mouseover picture caption thingies.

    Mindblow, the roundups just got a 100% increase in awesomeness. Now to dive into the archives and re-read every single one that came before.

Leave a comment