Monogatari Series Second Season episode 8 – No orz-ing

vlcsnap-2013-08-26-14h51m13s36

I said last week that I was disappointed to see Arararagi back as the main character because it was refreshing to see the story from someone else’s point of view for a change. I was hoping for something similar to the way Durarara was structured, where every episode felt slightly different due to it being told from a different character’s perspective. This episode reminded me that there are some great upsides to having Arararagi as the main character. It’s not his wit or his charm or his paedophilic tendencies, the last of which I could probably do without. No, it’s because he pulls the best faces.

vlcsnap-2013-08-26-14h50m21s30This episode looked great visually. It had lots of little dumb stuff that made me laugh, such as switches in artstyle to 70’s shoujo to more dramatic facial expressions. The way shots were framed was clever too, holding back reveals and framing shots in certain ways. I did particularly like how they shot the shrine when they went back, looking much starker than it did the first time around where it simply looked a little foreboding. It’s a lot of the usual tricks the Monogatari series pulls, but it struck me more this episode than some previously. Probably because they moved around a lot, rather than only moving to two spots in the one episode because they spend so much bloody time simply chatting to each other about absolutely nothing.

vlcsnap-2013-08-26-14h48m58s202Stuff like this. Meme falling out of the sky behind an absurdly large full moon as desks float into the air as though they’re constructed from helium as Shinobu quotes something he said in her usual tone of voice whenever she’s talking about Meme. In other words, sounding hugely pissed off like he was the one who kept eating her doughnuts and that’s why she spent all of Bakemonogatari sulking in a corner. I liked that little bit from Shinobu at the end where she pointed out the risk of her defecting because she could get her power back from the shrine. It’s an interesting little reminder that Arararagi and Shinobu’s relationship is a strange complicated one where Arararagi is supposedly keeping Shinobu in check but their relationship has grown in such a way that they care for each other.

I genuinely liked that scene from last season where they talked in the bath, and not just because we almost got to see Arararagi’s crotch. It was their acknowledgement of their immortality and the loneliness that comes with it. Their acceptance that they will forever be with each other. It was a great scene that was only slightly hampered by the fact it was Shinbo acting like giant paedophiles yet again. You know what would make all these scenes with Shinobu that much better? If we had the context behind how their relationship was originally formed. I’m starting to think that they originally started making the storyboards for Monogatari Second Season assuming that Kizumonogatari was already out and that’s why the series feels like it assumes you already know what happens in Kizu. Then again, it’s being doing that since Bakemonogatari so nothing new there.

vlcsnap-2013-08-26-14h54m40s57Heeeeeaaaaaaayyyy what’s going on!

The actual events of the episode were really just your standard time travel plot fair. Here’s a few of the characters you know and love lol no it was Hanekawa nobody likes her. Here’s characters wondering how the time travel mechanics play out. Here’s them viewing important scenes from a different angle. Maybe I’ve just seen too many time travel stories to get particularly excited by them anymore. I liked the episode, but I can’t profess to being particularly excited either way for how the arc plays out. I’m interested by the aftermath and how it effects the character’s relationships, but that’s providing they change in any way at all. If Mayoi’s relationship with Arararagi doesn’t change in any way after this arc because it’s revealed you can’t change anything so everything stays the same, then the arc will have felt like an awful waste.

vlcsnap-2013-08-26-14h47m39s206

No orzing allowed.

16 thoughts on “Monogatari Series Second Season episode 8 – No orz-ing

  1. God damn it! I hate all this pedophilia shtick in Monogatari. It’s not funny, it’s really creepy and disgusting.
    Well okay the Hanekawa scene still made me laugh. Great facial expressions, great directing and great comedic timing. But instantly I feel bad at laughing because I should’t laught at stuff like that.

    I usually really enjoy when butterfly effect and time traveling are combined. It’s nothing rare but it’s one of those things that I really like seeing.

    I also liked how quickly they ditched Shinobus disquise. Now we now how she would look like in school uniform while wearing glasses. Umm? Thanks?

    1. Yeah, this pedo stuff makes me roll my eyes.

      I’m excited to see the new world that’s ahead of them. The ED made it look like buildings were in shambles. Then again it might have been the animation style.

    2. It’s the weirdest thing, but I’m not as bothered by the pedophelic under [and sometimes over] tones in regards to Shinobu as I feel I ought to be [I’ve yet to go “WOW, really? She’s like __ years old”]. Not as bothered as I have been in other series at least. Maybe that’s because whenever she’s on screen I’m really engrossed in her and Arararagi’s banter and don’t pay as much mind to Shinbo’s…enthusiasm. Or maybe because she’s actually really really old, I…I don’t know.
      It does sort of bother me that it doesn’t really bother me though.

  2. We picked the same screenshots for the first two 0.0
    Although i guess that’s not particularly amazing since both were fairly iconic.
    As for the story itself i thought it was pretty sloppily executed, since they just said “lets do x”, then they did it, and moved on to the next thing over and over again. Call me crazy but i really enjoyed the winding pointless dialogue

    1. Hah, that’s funny now you point it out. They actually did the stuff they said they would do almost instantly after saying it. Seems so obvious but maybe not to Arararagi

      1. The only time it worked for me is when he said in a really deadpan tone, “the world was annihilated”.
        Also, wasn’t this episode 8?

    2. One of the things I actually really like about this arc is that new things keep happening, without all the meandering conversations the series is known for. Well, those conversations are still here and there, but not nearly as dominant. It’s all about what starts as a simple time travel story but then keeps escalating at each step. In typical Nisio fashion, the twists aren’t the most satisfying or most logical, but I do appreciate that this story is such a departure, style-wise, from previous ones. Actually, I’d say the forever-unadapted Kizumonogatari is the closest to this one.

  3. No pics of loli Hanekawa, Hanekawa cross road chase or Shinobu wearing Hanekawa style outfit? Such disappointment. Get your priorities straight, man!

    Also based on above comments I feel to be in minority here for actually liking Ararararararagi’s massive lolicon tendencies…

    1. Don’t worry… I also love Ararararararagi’s lolicon tendencies. The lolis in this series aren’t even real lolis. One’s a vampire that’s over a hundred years old and the other one has been a ghost for 11 years. Both of them are technically older than Ararararararagi.

      1. So I suppose the questions on everyone’s mind then is:
        Would possessing certain Shinobu doujins (you know the ones I’m talking about) be legal?
        #TimeTravelingLolisIsSrsBsnss

  4. Koyomi did explain to Shinobu (and she added a few more) about the other females that he helped in his real timeline that he cannot help in this one, so he chose to save only Mayoi Hachikuji, because she was dead. The next episode (#9) is dark, slow, and confusing because he and Shinobu see what has happened, she takes the blame of the new “problem”, and tells him how it all happened. Kiss Shot in Kizumonogatari could fly, so Shinobu does fly again in this new episode, escaping from the “problem” but she (Shinobu) didn’t do it! This story is animated with much of the original dialog edited out, so it skips a lot of the Kabukimonogatari novel, and will end in episode #10.

Leave a comment