Bakuman episode 3

You know what would be cool? If someone wrote a manga about me and it was adapted into an anime. Then we’d have an anime based off a manga about a guy who writes about an anime based off a manga about two kids writing manga with the intention of it getting turned into an anime.

Actually that would be a bad idea. The world would probably explode with sheer meta.

He always had the bug

One thing that bugged me in the last episode was how instant the reactions of both the dad and the grandad were to Moritaka’s declaration that he wanted to be a manga artist. The reason I saw people putting out was that they were just delighted to see him actually expressing some sort of enthusiasm again, which is exactly what it turned out to be. They always knew he was fascinated by manga and that it was only a matter of time that he would express interest in becoming a manga artist himself. I guess that’s why the grandad had the key all ready to go. Although that’s quite a big gamble to take, keeping the uncles apartment just in the hope Moritaka would express interest in becoming a manga artist again. Were they paying the rent all that time? Of course, the mother knew nothing of this, but she’s a stupid women and therefore knows nothing about the dreams of men etc.

Yawn dreams

While I do like Bakuman, there’s a disconnect between me and the quest these two are striving for. I’m just not finding their dreams interesting to watch. I love watching these two be stupid teenagers and doing things stupid teenage boys do. Whether it’s reading the letters of older people and constructing stories or hanging out at the local MILF’s place and then going to the playground afterwards to discuss how attractive she is, I do love watching these two goof about. But they’re not just goofing about. We’re also seeing plenty of internal monologues of what’s going to happen to them as manga creators, and I’m just not getting into it as of yet. I can’t quite place my finger on as to why either. I’ll have to return to this point in a later post.

Manga Anthology

Holy crap man, that’s a friggen massive collection of manga! I understand that it’s his job and everything, but think about how much that would have cost. Unless I misunderstood something and he was able to get these all directly from the publishers at hugely discounted prices or something, I fail to understand how a one-hit wonder manga artist could collect such a horde. Maybe he died because the loan sharks were after him? Imagine how much money they’d make if they sold this all on eBay.

Unattractive

I’m really not digging the female character designs. I know I called her a MILF earlier, but that was just a MILF in story. Her face is so flat, as are the faces of most women in this show. But it’s not so much the flat face that bothers me. It’s the massive fringe, the broken egg shaped face, the stupidly proportioned boobs. The boobs in particular bother me. She looks all right but any girl in school uniform just looks silly. Seriously, the only fairly well drawn character is the mother. Maybe this is Ohba’s picture of the ideal women? Eh, whatever floats his boat.

Confession through Profession

Confess your love to the girl you like in your manga? In an almost painfully innocent way? Oh School Rumble, how I miss thee~

22 thoughts on “Bakuman episode 3

  1. That first paragraph. Absolutely awsm.

    I haven’t seen much of this anime yet, so I don’t know how I feel about it, but I am enjoying the manga, so there’s that. I did think the character designs were a bit odd, but I had no idea the girls’ school uniforms would bother me this much. They’re… so ugly.

    1. Considering what a big deal character designers often make of female school uniforms, it’s truly strange to see such ugly uniforms

  2. I mentioned how JC staff took a different approach with this anime that the manga authors.
    And you are right, this could be a good thing, to improve a good story and to change the things that the author fail to notice, in resume making it more interesting.
    This, however, is not the case, the success of Bakuman (the manga) is about this two teenagers who strive for their dreams, give their best, work hard and manliness (there is the manliness again), the quality of the illustration, that is what makes the story interesting.
    You NEED to read the manga to see the differences, once you read it you will know why JC staff is failing in making this a good adaptation.
    I could make a list about the things that just seem to not working for me so far but I’m felling lazy right now and my bother (sorry I lied) is talking to me so I’ll rest my case in the hands of the anime fandoom.

    1. After the latest chapter’s last page…yesssss, that manliness part.

      I hated how they didn’t include the sparkles when Azuki’s face was right in front of Mashiro’s in episode 1.
      Just saying.

    2. I have never, ever preffered a manga to an anime.

      Admittedly I haven’t had too many I can make comparisons between, but that’s because I stopped reading manga when I realised how much I preffered anime. However to use examples of manga I’ve read that I much preffered to the anime:

      Chobits
      School Rumble
      Full Metal Alchemist
      Genshiken
      Azumanga Daoih
      Death Note
      Claymore

      Possibly the only one my opinon I can’t quite make up on is Love Hina, but my opinions on both versions are too tinted with nostalgia to make any sort of judgement on either

      1. I just prefer whichever is the original.
        Bought the Nadja manga one day. Waste of $14. Merged two characters into one and squished 50 episodes into two tankoubon. >>;

        Full Metal Alchem­ist
        Which one because I have to agree with the The Nihon Review about Brotherhood.

        Still, I prefer the manga’s approach for Bakuman. over the anime’s approach.

        What about manga that haven’t been adapted into anime?

      2. Usually the original is better, is the same when a book is adapted into a movie people who have read the book will find the movie awful.

        One example is kurokami the manga is good, very good yet the anime is horrible and I dropped it after one episode, I just couldn’t stand it.

        I do prefer manga over anime (I can read fast end you can get more about the plot ) but that’s just my opinion same with bakuman I agree with kiseki the manga is much better in approach and quality.

  3. Well, Google Ads picked up on your MILF comments, because the ad box is telling me to “find sexy mature women tonight”.

    I don’t really get the character designs either. I don’t even think she looks like a grown up. I guess that is what happens when you reuse the character design of a 14 year old (only — TWIST — she’s wearing a wig!). I don’t care that much, though, because I’m much more interested in the manga authoring side of the story.

    1. Anime milfs rarely look like actual older women (Sanae from Clannad is clearly not a granny). It seems to be something anime has difficulty portraying.

      I wonder if the MILF ads got more people clicking on them… goes and checks nope, not really. Unless 2 clicks counts as an improvement. Which sadly, it is. =(

  4. I vote for an anime based on you. It would for definitely be my favorite.

    I watched this episode done by a different subbing group and they changed the “Men have dreams that women don’t understand” line to just “men have their dreams”, which is a lot less offensive, probably because ‘men’ can be seen as a synonym for ‘mankind’.

    Hm, this episode didn’t interest me that much, though. Hopefully the next episode will pick up a little.

    1. I watched those subs as well. Imagine if you’d watched those subs originally and then later went and read all the sexism rants people went on. There’s a lot in how something is phrased. I remember a Baccano sub where one character kissed another on the cheek and the subs implied that it was the first time he ever kissed her in the many years they’d been going out. However what had really happened was it was the first time he’d shown any attraction to her.

      Subbing is srs bsnss

  5. The character designs are rather hideous; I want to shave Miho’s mother’s head – seriously those sausage ringlets are not a good look on anyone over 5yrs old!

      1. It was inflicted on me until I was in p2 beacuse my mother and granny though it was adorable to have a little ginger child with ringlets.

        I would take vindictive pleasure in doing the same to my daughter 😛

  6. The mother’s hairstyle was absolutely strange. I’ve never seen a case of “anime hair” on a middle-aged female character before…

    That aside – I’m enjoying the hell out of Bakuman. I had a huge grin on my face for the entire second half of ep. 2 (when they get the keys to the kingdom, so to speak). Sometimes, when you ask, life actually gives you more than what you expect. 🙂

Leave a comment