Hetalia Axis Powers episode 13

We are now halfway through Hetalia. However if you were to count minutes, we have only watched about 3 episodes of a normal series. From that point of view, thank god for this second season we’ve been promised.

vlcsnap-340991

Yeah, second season is on it’s way, in case you didn’t already know.

Italy tries to look badass. Fails miserably
Italy tries to look badass. Fails miserably

The episode starts off with another great Italy/Germany scene. Of course, you already know this. Unless you are one of those weird people who read blog posts instead of watching the episodes. Seriously, people do this. Anyway, the scene included a line from Germany that made me roar wth laughter. However I’m not sure if that was intentional by Hetalia or just an odd translation by bss. The line was ‘before they are you inferiors, they are human beings’, which is a line littered with irony when it’s Germany speaking it.

English version of Full Metal Alchemist
English version of Full Metal Alchemist

Next up was a mish-mash of events involving mainly England. Apparently England has magical powers (I thought England burnt all it’s witches in the 1600’s but I guess some magic got through the purging, possibly with a flame-freezing charm) so he uses them to summon the most evil creature in the entire world. A creature so evil that it’s existence alone almost embroiled the entire planet in terrible nuclear war. This man was…

vlcsnap-34468vlcsnap-34512

It’s not often I laugh so hard that I can’t breath. It happened here. Man, I love this show 🙂

vlcsnap-35340

For a second episode running, Hetalia is gloriously free of Chibitalia and it really seems they’ve left it behind forever. That said, Hetalia seems to be moving into some new stage about what appears to be the American civil war. Actually I quite like that idea. Thanks to the sheer amount of American television there is, I know a fair bit about this revolution (plus I got a highly helpful comment a while back, explaining to me which country America was. I could only remember it as that place Bruce Springsteen once sang a song about being born there). Already this is a plus on Chibitalia, which focused on a period of history I knew next to nothing about.

I didn't really get this gag, but it was random enough to be funny
I didn't really get this gag, but it was random enough to be funny

Hetalia is funny. Probably the most bloody obvious statement there is to say about Hetalia but sometimes you can forget exactly how funny it can be. The reason for this is because Hetalia’s main aim, and pretty much only aim, is to make us laugh. Divided into short gags lasting about a minute or two each, each part is designed to make you laugh as much as possible. This makes it far superior to something along the lines of, lets say, K-ON because K-ON’s aim is only to make you grin. Notice the difference? So if you were to take the best of each genre, which IMO are Cromartie High School and Azumanga, Cromartie is far better. Not that Azumanga is a bad show, quite the opposite, but laughing > grinning.

5 thoughts on “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 13

  1. Whoops, missed that typo. I suppose it was far too obvious a mistake to see, I was looking out for little mistakes…

    Hetalia tells history around the time of WW2, except all the countries have been turned into bishounens. Each episode is only 5 minutes long, so try out an episode or two to see if it’s your sort of humour. If you don’t find the first episode funny, chances are none of the rest will be funny either

  2. The “gag” at the end is based on something that happened in the Russo-Japanese war before WWI. Russia’s tzar at the time had the Orthodox Church try and curse the Japanese while they were fighting. It didn’t work and Japan pretty much won the war and the disputed islands… And then the curse (supposedly) took effect in the form of tidal waves, earthquakes, et cetera et cetera, a few years later.

  3. (plus I got a highly helpful comment a while back, explaining to me which country America was. I could only remember it as that place Bruce Springsteen once sang a song about being born there).

    XDXDXDXDXD
    Man, I’m internetually falling in love with youXD

    God, I remember that Russia gag was one of my favourites as well (though the evil chair tops allXD)

  4. 🙂 I love stumbling on your blogs when I look for pictures for my videos. You have a very good sense of humor. The only thing is… that clip of America standing there in the rain is during the American Revolution, not the Civil War, but since you mentioned it as a revolution later, you probably know and I should stop being so picky. 😀 Still love your blog tough 🙂
    Happy Holidays!

Leave a comment