12 Days of Anime #5: The new Berserk fan

Berserk is phenomenal. It may not be my favourite anime of all time, but it’s the ‘best’. Perfection in story-telling beyond anything else I’ve ever seen in anime, or entertainment in general. But I’m never going to write a better post about what happened in Berserk than this one, so that’s not what this post is about. This is about a trailer.

The Berserk manga is still ongoing, long since the original TV series ended. The TV series stopped at a spot that worked perfectly in confines of the story it had presented, but the fact remains a story continues after that final episode. But Berserk being the phenomenon it is, surely they’d return to it someday. They’d make a sequel or something. But nope, no sign of it for years. It certainly didn’t help that the author, Miura, had something like a 200 day break between each volume while he was playing Idolm@ster. It was pretty torturous being a Berserk fan. They had to wait 13 years until they finally got some good news. 13 fucking years before it was announced that Studio 4° were doing a remake. Then there was me, some newfag who had watched the anime only 6 months ago. It was hard for me to get excited.

Until the trailer. It was then that it finally hit me. New Berserk. Holy shit, there’s going to be more Berserk! I’m going to see Griffith again! I’m going to see more of this series, I can hardly believe it. There was me, a proud member of the Youtube Generation of anime fans, standing alongside those from the pre-digital distribution era, both drooling as Griffith swung his CGI white hair around to tell us that yes, there was more Berserk on its way. We’re all Berserk fans, oldfag and newfag alike. It’s not like any old school Berserk fan had admitted me into their exclusive club or anything. It’s more like they hadn’t noticed me come into the back of the theatre to watch the trailer, but let me stay because hey, he likes Berserk and that’s all that really matters.

Seriously guys. Holy fuck, more Berserk!

5 thoughts on “12 Days of Anime #5: The new Berserk fan

  1. I’m one of those readers who actually had to stop following the manga for several years (about 7 or so) so that the series could build up material again, so I’m a little cautious with regard to the new Berserk! series. Given how the series is STILL ongoing (heck, it pretty much hit a crescendo with the Millenium Falcon arc), I have to wonder… Where will they end it THIS time?

  2. Damn you kids and your fancy digital distribution, higher resolutions and surround sound! Crusty copied VHS in mono or bust, I say! mumble, mumble

    Get off my lawn.

  3. Are you fucking shitting me? Seriously? This is the best news I’ve heard since time was invented. I’ve been a fan of Berserk almost as long as I’ve known anime existed. I can’t wait to watch this. My god, I didn’t even know about this until I visited your site. Thank you.

  4. Berserk is pretty kickass. I’m glad your gushing post convinced me to watch it a few months back. And I very much looking forward to new Berserk. Hooray! (also lol bandwagon fans forever)

  5. Long suffering Five Star Stories fans nod in agreement. Nagano Mamoru has been playing diablo 2 then MMORPGS, churning out one-off shoujo mangas and other….stuff, whilst the series that made him rich, and supposedly declared his life’s work, sits idle for 7 years and counting.

Leave a comment